Parish Councillors

A parish council is the level of elected government that is closest to the community, with the district authority above it in the hierarchy. Parish councils have no true equivalent in urban areas. Being close to the community, parish councils are very often the first place people will go with concerns or ideas. For this reason they play a vital part in village life, making decisions on behalf of the people in the parish. A parish councillor must have a passion for making a difference within their local community, recognising the needs of the young and the elderly in equal measure while taking into consideration the legal boundaries in which they work.

The number of councillors making up a parish council varies. Their work is entirely voluntary; no Councillor receives any payment for attending the meetings.

Details of the current Councillors their responsibilities and their Clerk are included below.

Chair Person

Cllr: Edward Leaf

Responsibilities: Streetlights/ Financial Risk Assessment/Village Hall

Contact Information:

4 Vicarage Lane, Mears Ashby, NN6 0EE


Tel: 01604 378341

Vice Chair Person

Cllr. Victoria Smith

Responsibilities: Village Life Magazine/Police Liaison Representative

Contact Information:

18 Bakehouse Lane, Mears Ashby, NN6 0ED


Tel 01604 812239

Parish Council Clerk

Mr. Mike Billingham CILCA

Responsibilities: Proper Officer / Responsible Finance Officer / Website

Contact Information:

35 Willow Crescent, Great Houghton, Northampton NN4 7AP


Tel: 07754 570186

Parish Councillors

Cllr: Tim Barnard

Responsibilities: Councillor

Contact Information:

3 North Street Mears Ashby NN6 0DW


Tel: 01604 811870

Cllr: Tim Graham

Responsibilities: Environment /Town Estates/Poors Close/

Contact Information:

15 Bakerhouse Lane Mears Ashby NN6 0RD


Tel: 01604 812814

Currently Vacant

Cllr: Ivan Roy

Responsibilities: Highways / Streetlights

Contact Information:

1 Hill Farm Court

Mears Ashby


Tel: 01604 813712

North Northants Councillors

Cllr: Scott Brown

Contact Information:


phone: 07791 870235

Cllr: Clive Hallam

Contact Information:


phone: 07799 133301

Cllr: Lora Lawman

Contact Information


phone: 07702 084518


Chris Heaton-Harris MP

Chris can be contacted at any time through the following means:

Chris Heaton-Harris MP, House of Commons, London, SW1 0AA

phone: 0207 2197048 or 01604 859721